Home > Uncategorized > Yet Another Toxic Electrical Cord from China

Yet Another Toxic Electrical Cord from China

I bought a fluorescent lamp a few days ago, and got it today. It was nice, except for the cord and some piece of rattling metal inside. The cord had a faint smell of the usual toxic WD-40-likle smell I’ve smelled in many Chinese plastics and in the case of one or two bicycles, the lubricants, and the tires in a “Gorilla Cart” I bought. The smell didn’t seem to easily get on my hands and I didn’t get a strong urge to vomit or get an instant headache like in past experiences, but I didn’t want to take the risk, so I put it outside after testing it out.

Two other products I have with a nasty smell I keep outside: an energizer battery charger and cheap hatchet, which has a black ring around the bottom of the hatchet head, which has the strong classic nasty smell I’m talking about. I only keep them out of necessity. I bought another battery charger to replace the energizer one, since that’s the only one I have that can charge D and C cells. The energizer one has gasses off so strongly (the smell isn’t the same kind as the others) that even outside, with the lid up, it stains the batteries I put in it with the same smell. Other than that, I have a few UV flashlights which all have smelly battery cages, mostly plastic. It had a bad smell to begin with, and the smell/chemical from the energizer battery charger makes it a little worse, but I haven’t put my nose to any of them more than twice to know, it’s just obvious.

Update 2:42 P.M.: I just smelled the inside of the box of that UV lamp, and wow, it is saturated with that smell. I didn’t feel sick though, but I’m putting it outside, and keeping it should I decide to return the lamp.

Please read the links below to know what products from China to avoid, among them, backpacks and lunchboxes and no doubt thermoses, which are also meant for kids:

Back-to-school study finds high levels of phthalate chemicals in kids backpacks, supplies

In Food Safety Crackdown, China Closes 180 Plants

Anger in China Rises Over Threat to Environment (a pharmaceutical company was polluting farms with a plant-killing substance

Asian Honey, Banned in Europe, Is Flooding U.S. Grocery Shelves

Ingredients to Avoid in Deodorant and Antiperspirants

China Makes Fake Rice from Plastic?

[Environmental] Meltdown: China’s plastic recycling carries toxic toll

Campaign to Halt the Import of Chemical-Emitting Smelly Plastic from China

Can Plastic Chemicals Cause Effeminate Behavior in Boys?

Remember not to believe something merely because it sounds true or many repeated it, or because someone “in authority” said it was true: everyone but God lies, so find a trustworthy source or sources for what you believe. Don’t assume anything, because assumption is not logical and leads to humiliation at times. And remember, “pride comes before a fall”, as God says, meaning (baseless) pride will cause you to fail in an embarrassing way, and most people have pride in a way that is not good, the usual one being pride that ignores the work of others, including God, and exaggerates the importance of the work.


Post link: http://bit.ly/toxicplasticproducts

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

