Home > Uncategorized > Gerald Celente’s ‘Political Atheism’ and Ian Punnet’s Bad Religion

Gerald Celente’s ‘Political Atheism’ and Ian Punnet’s Bad Religion

Daniel Knight

Date: January 3, 2009, 9:31 A.M

(I had some delays before finding the verses below which delayed the posting of this entry)

I listened, again, to Coast to Coast A.M. last night, listened to various economists give their economic forecast for 2010 and beyond. It wasn’t happy, it was “doom and gloom” as many would put it. One of the commentators, whose name is Gerald Celente, was, as usual, saying he was a “political atheist” and by that he would explain as usual that he meant that he and his organization gave the facts and not what people wanted to believed. Knowing that Ian Punnet, who was hosting that night and early morning, was a somewhat religious Christian, and seemingly interviewing Celente for the first time, wondered if he would realize that Celente was speaking against Christianity, among other religions, however Ian didn’t reply to it. I’m a little upset with that, but not very, since it didn’t occur to me either what Celente meant by his political atheist phrase even when he explained himself, because he kept his focus on economic talk mostly and didn’t actually say the word “God” or “religion” when explaining himself, and thought that he might simply be using a clever phrase. But when he emphasized it yet again, and it seemed to be an even greater emphasis this time, I realized he was contrasting his atheism to believe in God, and not something else, as there is no something else that is an opposite to atheism. Ironically (but not surprising to me), this accusation against Christians and others who believe in God, is also a hypocritical accusation and false, as all accusations and attacks on God are. As I’ve said before to those who use the “ignorance is bliss” attack against Christians:

“You think Christians want to believe in Hell and eternal punishment?” No one becomes a Christian because they think, “Oh yes I just want to think about not sinning all the time and that I’ll be punished for all my sins and about how most of the world is going to Hell including my co-workers, former friends and even my own children! I love thinking there’s going to be eternal punishment for the whole world! Yes!” Now that, is absurd.

Atheists like Celente, and other anti-Christians, think that they are the truth-lovers and who are persecuted for speaking the truth,and think that Christians as the ones who reject the truth and make evil faces at it, but that is the farthest thing from the truth, as the Bible taught, many times, thousands of years ago:

the Spirit entered into me when He spoke to me, and set me on my feet, so that I heard Him who spoke to me. And He said to me, Son of man, I am sending you to the sons of Israel, to the nations, the rebelling ones who have rebelled against Me; they and their fathers have sinned against Me, to this day. And the sons are stiff of face, and hard of heart. I am sending you to them; and you shall say to them, So says the Lord Jehovah. And they, whether they will hear or whether they will forbear; for they are a rebellious house. Yea, they shall know that there has been a prophet among them. And you, son of man, do not be afraid of them, and of their words, though briers and thorns are with you, and you dwell among scorpions. Do not be afraid of their words, nor frightened by their faces, though they are a rebellious house. And you shall speak My Words to them, whether they will hear or whether they will forbear, for they are rebellious. But you, son of man, hear what I am saying to you. Do not be rebellious like that rebellious house. Open your mouth and eat what I am giving you. And I looked, and behold! A hand was extended to me; and lo, a roll of a book was in it. And He spread it before me; and it was written on the face and the back. And written on it were weepings, and mourning, and woe. … Son of man, go! Go up to the house of Israel and speak to them with My Words. For you are not sent to a people of a deep lip and of a difficult language, but to the house of Israel; not to many people of a deep lip and of a difficult language, whose words you cannot hear. Surely, if I had sent you to them, they would have listened to you. But the house of Israel will not listen to you, for they will not listen to Me; for all the house of Israel are strong of forehead and hard of heart. Behold, I have made your face strong against their faces and your forehead strong against their foreheads. I have made your forehead as an adamant harder than flint. Do not be bowed down by their faces, though they are a rebellious house. And He said to me, Son of man, receive all My Words which I shall speak to you in your heart, and hear with your ears. And go! Go to those of the captivity, to the sons of your people, and speak to them, and tell them, So says the Lord Jehovah; whether they will hear or whether they will forbear. – Ezekiel 2:3-10, 3:4-11

So Celente, you are not the first prophet to give a message of warning and gloom that was unwelcomed.  Besides, that, I’ve not heard that realistic economic forecasts are unwelcomed, so that you keep saying that you are a political atheist, is pointless, and look-at-me drama queenery.

One of Ian Punnet’s responses to Celente’s statements of hope, was, “cross your fingers”, and not a single reference to God, and yet Ian makes himself out to be a reasonable Christian, unlike fundamentalist ones. Where does the Bible say, “Cross your fingers so that God will bless you.”? Once again Punnet has shown that he is not someone who should be preaching and teaching Scripture to the world, let alone a class or congregation.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

